Spools Rush In – Episode 2: Why Sew Serious?

Happy Tuesday, folks! Lieutenant Princess is back with a quick installment of “Spools Rush In,” which, according to my notes, is either a shocking glimpse into the shady, underhanded goings-on behind the curtain on “Project Runway” (alternate title: “No Thank You, Mood!”), or her series about what she’s learning in her new sewing class. I’m gonna go out on a limb, and guess it’s the latter, but let’s find out together, shall we? Take it away, LP! (Oh, and by the way, yesterday was LP’s, let’s say… 19th birthday! Be sure to show her some belated birthday love!!!)

Hey, everybody! First of all, take a look at this!

That’s right. You’re not dreaming! You’re looking at my finished tote bag! Yes, there are a few wonky lines here and there and the straps could be a little longer, but whatever. Shut up! I made a tote bag! Not too shabby for a beginner, I must say. 🙂

Now that that’s through though, it’s time for us to move on the next step: patterns and a pair of pajama pants. Dun-dun-dun!

So, for those you who are unfamiliar, patterns are clothing’s building blocks, basically, and in theory, they’re pretty simple to use. First, you pin the patterns onto a piece of fabric, then you cut around them, and sew them together. Like one right front leg + one left front leg + one right back leg + one left back leg = pants!!! Easy, right? Well, in practice, not so much, since, you know, sewing is hard and I just learned what a bobbin is like two weeks ago!

Now, there are a ton of different kinds of patterns. As many different kinds as there are articles of clothing, really. Advanced sewers can make patterns from the clothes off of their backs (show-offs!), but us newbies learn from picking out pre-fab patterns. I’m not really sure what I thought picking and using these patterns would be like, but I can tell you that I didn’t think it would be like learning the Dewey Decimal System all over again. First, you go to a magazine and pick something out, and then get the number of the pattern you need, and then you go to the pattern catalogue and search through the drawers… It’s surprisingly involved! But in the end, if you’re lucky, you’re like me, and you’ve got a nearly-completed pair of bright purple pj’s! And once I get the elastic waistband in, I promise I’ll make Resident Male model them sad-Etsy-boyfriend style! [“I don’t think Etsy’s ready for this jelly!” -RM]

Tonight, is our final class, and I’m so excited to continue on to the next level. Look out for my fabulous line of pillows and throws on Ella & Boss someday!

Stay tuned for the season finale!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

