Drills, Baby, Drills!

Hey hey, everybody! Resident male here, and welcome one and all once again to Ella & Blog. This week, our lovely and talented Lieutenant Princess has another question for all you DIY-ers out there, so I’ll go ahead and yield the remainder of my time to the distinguished lady from the Dev, and the undisputed Foursquare mayor of this very office. Take it away, Mademoiselle Mayor:

Hi, everyone! Happy Friday! This weekend I want to get started on a DIY project that I’ve been thinking about for a while. Namely, fixing up my media center. But, sadly, that requires a drill and recently I lost mine. I mean – seriously – who loses a drill? Like an entire drill? How and where could I have possibly lost an entire drill? So… yeah, that’s kind of ridiculous, but whatever. I guess it just means I’m in the market for a brand new one, but it’s a been a few years since I’ve had to think about buying a new drill and I’m just not sure what to get.

Number one, I know I want something that’s light, and easy to use and transport, but after that I’m not sure. I’ve noticed in my research that there are a couple of different types of drills. First, there’s your regular household drill which is generally easy to use for simple around the house sort of projects, but I can’t quite resist the urge to check out the impact driver. Impact drivers are kind of intense. I mean they can go through concrete and all sorts of materials that household drills probably shouldn’t be able to go through, and it just seems all around more useful. Not that I need to drill through a slab of concrete ever, but you never know. Also, strangely enough, Tomboy Tools, which we talked about a few weeks ago, has an 8v impact drill in their repertoire!

Of course, not everyone is interested in Barbie’s Dream Drill, so I’m still researching. The two brands that seem to come up most often and with the best reviews are Hitachi and Makita. Here are my finalists:

1. Hitachi DS14DVF3

This drill is lightweight, precise, and the two-piece magnet motor produces 300-inch-pounds of torque to power through the toughest jobs.

2. Makita BTD144

This is an impact driver with a wide range of applications, but watch out. It’s a little pricey.

3. Makita TD090DW

At just 2 pounds, this impact driver packs a ton of speed and power in its ultra-compact design. Plus, you won’t have to take out a second mortgage to afford it.

4. Milwaukee 2401-22

This drill was the best reviewed on Amazon, and I think this one is best for us. As interior designers we don’t see a lot of concrete – but we love poured concrete floors! – and usually would hire someone for these complex work intensive projects. Personally, the more I think about it, transportability and ease of use are bigger concerns than having heavy duty power, and this guy seems perfect for simple DIY home projects.

But what do you think? Have you bought a drill recently? Do you have one you really like? Let us know in the comments or send us an email!

Thanks, and good luck with all your projects!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

